Food Log #9

So, it has been a while since I’ve last updated. I had a very busy weekend before spring break and Annmarie and I went to South Carolina for spring break, which means we didn’t have internet access for the week. This food log will present my exciting eatings the weekend before spring break; the wedding weekend. Annmarie was a bridesmaid for a good friend of her’s and I was invited along for the ride as Annmarie’s date. We ate lots of good food and did tons of fun things throughout the weekend. Friday night, we went to the rehearsal dinner in Indy and after the rehearsal for the wedding participants were over, we went to a German restaurant a few blocks away called The Rathskeller, which was so interesting and delicious (http://www.rathskeller.com/). I had never eaten true German food before, so this was a real treat for me. After looking at the menu for a while, I needed to order the rouladen, which is a beef rollup filled with bacon, onions, spicy mustard and tart pickle wedge slowly cooked for tenderness and toppedwith homemade brown gravy. It was delicious. My sides were wild rice and German potato salad. This meal was accompanied by a first salad and bread. I also ordered some locally brewed beer. The best part about all of this: free! It was very nice of the family to pay for all of our meals. I graciously thanked them afterwards. The evening afterwards, after the actual wedding ceremony at the reception, I had smoked salmon with blue crab on top with asparagus and roasted potatoes. It was amazing. This was also served with a salad beforehand and bread types. Champagne and other refreshments were served throughout the meal. After the main meal, cake was served. Their cake had three different types within it. I went with the chocolate cake. The other cakes were white and a citrus. Annmarie got the citrus, and I kind of wished I had gotten that! But the chocolate was good, too. I had some coffee afterwards along with many drinks from the open bar. I forgot to mention that during cocktail hour, all kinds of appetizers were served, most of which I don’t even know what they were. Some duck, some potstickers, all delicious. It was a very good weekend leading up to spring break.

Leave a Reply

